Workflow configuration

The User Manual has moved! For the most up-to-date information, please visit our new site at docs.antavo.com.
We're committed to providing you with the best resources, and our new site offers an enhanced experience with the latest documentation. Thank you for your understanding and continued support.

Create workflows

To create a new workflow, click the ‘Create new general workflow’ or the ‘Create new campaign' button on the sidebar depending on what type of workflow you are planning to configure.

Campaigns require fundamental settings that you need to define before creating the course(s) of workflow(s) within the newly added campaign, while the general rule configuration (as there’s no campaign level) starts with defining the Workflow settings right away.


Configure campaign settings

Remember, while general workflows define one single workflow running long-term, campaigns can include multiple workflows running in parallel.

  • Define the name of the campaign

  • Add a description

  • Set the start date and end date of the campaign in UTC timezone
    All workflows that you will set up under this campaign will inherit this start and end date. The help text displays the dates converted to the brand timezone.

  • Max bonus points
    This value determines the top limit of how many points can be awarded during the whole campaign. Fill this with a positive number or zero. A 0 value overwrites all campaign bonuses and results in no bonus points. All restrictions are removed when this field is left empty.

  • Max customer points
    This value determines the top limit of how many points can be awarded to one single customer during the campaign. Fill this with a positive number or zero. A 0 value results in no bonus points to the individual customer. All restrictions are removed when this field is left empty.

  • Limit behavior
    The following three options can be selected as campaign bonus behavior for an action that exceeds the bonus limit.

    • A soft limit - Assign all bonus points only for the last action below the limit, even if the limit is exceeded

    • A dynamic limit - Dynamically reduces the number of bonus points assigned for the last action to ensure that the limit is not exceeded

    • Hard limit - Assign no bonus points for an action that would exceed the limit

  • Campaign Loyalty Card
    You might want to display your campaigns on your membership site to inform customers about the point-earning option. The information that you provide under this section is available through the /customers/{customer_id}/activities and /customers/{customer_id}/activities/earn endpoints of the Display API.

    • Card enabled - if you leave this checkbox empty, this campaign will not be included in the API response

    • Card title

    • Card description

    • Card image

    • Segments - the response will only include this campaign if the specific customer is part of any of the selected segments.

Click ‘Create’ to move on to workflow configuration.

You can come back and change the campaign settings anytime through the ‘Edit’ button of the campaign under the Campaigns tab.


Configure workflow settings

Workflow configuration starts with selecting the workflow template. Currently, only the blank template is available.

Select the blank template and click ‘Next’. The next step is to configure 3 basic workflow settings:

  • Name the workflow

  • Set the priority of the workflow
    By setting a priority, you can define the order of workflow execution if more than one workflow is triggered at the same time, by the same event. The workflow with the highest priority will run first.
    If all workflows have the same priority, the order of workflow execution will depend on how background applications process them.

  • Check the Prevent loop box if you want to disable self-triggered workflows
    A loop evolves when the workflow uses the same type of event as the trigger and an action that it triggers.

You can change these settings anytime under the Settings tab of the workflow configuration page or on the workflow editor canvas.


Workflow editor

After workflow settings are defined, you are directed to the editor page of the workflow where you can create the branching logic of the workflow. This interface is called the workflow canvas.

Operations on the workflow canvas

Add workflow nodes

Add workflow nodes to the canvas by dragging and dropping elements from the right side of the page. The search field at the top of the page helps you to find an element more easily.

By double-clicking on any of the elements that have been placed on the canvas, you can edit the name to help identify the purpose of each element in the running of the rule.

 

Set up the branching logic

Connect nodes to each other to create the branching logic of the workflow by clicking on the inputs and outputs of nodes.

Configure node settings

Configure the settings of workflow nodes by double-clicking them on the canvas. You can find all the configuration fields of every workflow element under the Element section.

Date, variables, and volt expressions can be used in any free text configuration fields.
The usage of these expressions is indicated by displaying the following icons at the end of the input field:

  • for volt functions (eg. volt: {{ customer.spendable % 10 == 0 }} - if the number of spendable points is divisible by 10)

  • for dates (eg. Date: 2023-02-13 or Date: +2 weeks)

  • for variable expressions (eg. {customer.first_name})

Transported attributes

Each workflow node shows the entities that have been transported from connected predecessor nodes of the workflow. This helps in identifying what kind of variables can be used in the node that you are currently working on. Available transport entities appear at the bottom of the node configuration popup and their variables are populated in configuration fields as a dropdown list when starting to type the name of the transported entity between {} brackets.

Delete a node by clicking on the ‘X’ button that appears when you hover over the node. To delete a connection, click on the link and hit the ‘X’ button that appears.

Clone the node by right-clicking on the icon and selecting ‘Copy’ then right-clicking on the canvas and selecting ‘Paste’. All the node settings are copied to the new node.

Action bar

Workflows have 5 action buttons above the canvas:

Import and export workflows

Importing and exporting workflows are useful when you want to migrate workflows across different Backoffice environments.
The workflow is exported to your device in a .json file format and the same file format is required when importing.

Clone workflows

The Clone button replicates the functionality of the 'Clone' action button on the Campaigns of General workflows tab. The Clone button is available on the top right corner of the Workflow settings page as well.

Revert an operation

Click this button to undo all canvas operations that have been made since the last save.

Save

Don’t forget to save your workflow settings before leaving the page. You can come back and change the workflow settings anytime through the ‘Edit’ button under the workflow hamburger button under the Campaigns or General workflows tab. Use the search bar on the top of these pages to search for a specific workflow to edit.

Saving will fail if required node settings are missing, or the workflow nodes are not connected properly. A warning message will be displayed reminding you to complete the workflow configuration. The unconnected node(s) are indicated with a red highlight.

After the workflow has been saved, the following action buttons are available in the top right corner of the Workflow settings page:

  • Open the .json document of the workflow in a popup

  • Activate and inactivate the workflow

  • Archive the workflow

  • Clone the workflow

Activate and inactivate a workflow

First, your workflow will be saved with inactive status. Click the ‘Set active’ button on the top right corner of the page to activate the workflow. If you decide to inactivate a workflow, click the ‘Set inactive’ button.

Please confirm your action in the dialog that appears.

 

Archive a workflow

You can archive inactive workflows by clicking on the ‘Archive’ button on the top right-hand side of the page. If the workflow is archived, you cannot retrieve it anymore. When a workflow is archived, its name gets updated so you can use it again.
Archiving campaigns is not possible.

© Copyright 2022 Antavo Ltd.